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South Carolina Department of Disabilities and Special Needs
STANDARDS FOR LICENSING DAY FACILITIES

South Carolina Code Ann. § 44-20-710 (Supp. 2018), authorizes DDSN to license day facilities
for children and/or adults. The Code states:

“No day program in part or in full for the care, training, or treatment of a person
with intellectual disability, a related disability, head injury, or spinal cord injury
may deliver services unless a license first is obtained from the department. For
the purpose of this article “in part” means a program operating for ten hours a
week or more. Educational and training services offered under the sponsorship
and direction of school districts and other state agencies are not required to be
licensed under this article.”

DDSN is authorized to establish minimum standards of operation and license programs as Adult
Activity Centers; Work Activity Centers and Unclassified Programs which are defined as
follows:

o Adult Activity Center: A goal oriented program of developmental, prevocational services
designed to develop, maintain, increase or maximize an individual’s functioning in
activities of daily living, physical growth, emotional stability, socialization,
communication, and vocational skills. The minimum participant/staff ratio for an Adult
Activity Center is 7:1;

o Work Activity Center: A workshop having an identifiable program designed to provide
therapeutic activities for intellectually/developmentally disabled workers whose physical
or mental impairment is so severe as to interfere with normal productive capacity. Work
or production is not the main purpose of the program; however, the development of work
skills is its main purpose. The program must have a certificate from the United States
Department of Labor designating it as a Work Activity Program when applicable. The
minimum participant/staff ratio for a Work Activity Center is 7:1.

o Unclassified Program: A program that provides a beneficial service and observes
appropriate standards to safeguard the health and safety of individuals, staff and the
public. The minimum participant/staff ratio is 10:1.

A license will only be issued to programs which are in compliance with the standards noted in
this document. A license may be issued for new programs or those found to be out of
compliance upon receipt of an acceptable plan of correction for eliminating deficiencies
identified in the official licensing survey. The plan must show that the deficiency will be
corrected within a 30 day period. An extension may be granted for another 30 days when
requested in writing and good cause shown. A license will be effective for up to a 12 month
period, beginning with the date of issuance. DDSN will make a determination of which license
to issue based on the services to be rendered through the facility. DDSN Directive 104-01-DD:
DDSN Certification and Licensure of Residential and Day Facilities, explains the process for
becoming licensed.




Definitions
Program:

Service:

Participant:

Adult Activity Center, Work Activity Center, or Unclassified Program.

Support Center, Day Activity, Career Preparation, Employment Services, or
Community Service.

The individual with a disability who receives services through the program.




Standard Guidance

Each program must be operated in
accordance with applicable state and

federal laws.

There will be at least the following Note: This ratio is applicable to the entire program and
minimum participant/staff ratio for each | staff who are not responsible for direct participant
program: support may be included in this ratio.

e Adult Activity Center - 7:1;
e Work Activity Center - 7:1;

e Unclassified Program - 10:1.

A designated responsible staff member
must be present and in charge at all
times a participant is present. The staff
member left in charge must know how
to contact the director at all times.

At no time shall any participant be Please refer to DDSN Directive 510-01-DD: Supervision
without supervision unless a specified | of People Receiving Services.

activity which allows for an adult
participant’s independent functioning is
planned and documented.

A minimum participant/staff ratio of When determining staffing patterns within a program and
10:1 must be maintained in each within a classroom, workshop, program area, etc., the
classroom, workshop, program area, supervision needs of each participant must be considered
etc. at all times. including their need for “independent functioning” as

defined in Standard #4.

Each program shall have provisions for
alternate coverage for staff members
who are ill. Such policies shall require
staff members with acute
communicable disease, including
respiratory infection, gastro-intestinal
infection, and skin rash, to absent
themselves during the acute phase of
illness.

When licensed as an Adult Activity
Center, participants will be at least 18
years of age.




Standard Guidance
8 | When licensed as an Unclassified
Program, participants will be at least 12
years of age.
9 | When licensed as an Unclassified
Program, participants under age 18 are
served in a program area
apart/separated from adult participants.
10 | Each facility shall provide a minimum | Per participant present in the facility.
of 50 square feet of program space per
participant.
11 | Each facility shall afford each Refer to:
participant adequate space for privacy
including, but not limited to: 42 CFR8441.301(c)(4)(iii)
a) Toileting facilities behind a
lockable door;
b) Personal care and /or treatment
areas;
c) Lockable storage for participant’s
personal belongings.
12 | For facilities initially licensed on or Facilities that may have qualities that may be presumed
after July 1, 2019, the setting must be to be institutional include:
free from qualities that may be
presumed institutional. e Facilities in a publically or privately-owned inpatient
treatment facility; and
e Facilities on the grounds of or adjacent to a public
institution.
Refer to:
42 CFR8441.301(c)(4)(i-v)
13 | For facilities initially licensed on or Facilities that may have characteristics that have the

after July 1, 2019, the setting must be
free from characteristics that have the
effect of discouraging integration of
participants from the broader
community.

effect of discouraging integration from the broader
community include, but may not be limited to:

e Settings completely enclosed by walls or fences with
locked gates;




Standard

Guidance

e An additional setting added to an existing cluster (i.e.,
2 or more) of DDSN-licensed residential or day
settings.

Refer to:

42 CFR8441.301(c)(4)(i-v)

14

Programs must be:

a) Free from obvious hazards.

b) Clean.

c) Free of litter/rubbish.

d) Free of offensive odors.

e) Equipment in good working order.

f)  Accessible to participants and staff.

The focus is on identifying potential threats to the health,
safety or welfare of program participants and barriers to
participation. The threat should be realistic; citations
should not be issued for superficial, cosmetic or aesthetic
shortcomings.

15

Hot water temperature in the program
area accessible to participants must
never be more than 110 degrees
Fahrenheit.

16

The facility will meet the regulations of
the appropriate standards for fire safety
as set forth by the South Carolina Fire
Marshal codes. Report of an approved
fire safety inspection completed by the
Office of State Fire Marshal and shall
be maintained in the facility’s records.

There must be evidence of corrective
action taken no later than 24 hours after
the citation for any of the following:

1. Failure to maintain working smoke
alarms.

2. Failure to maintain clear path of
egress.

3. Combustibles inappropriately
stored.

See fire code requirements at:
http://scfiremarshal.llronline.com/INSPECT/index.asp?fi
le=main.htm

Fire Safety Inspections, when required, must be made by
a Fire Marshal employed by the State Fire Marshal’s
office.

Initial fees and annual fire inspections are pre-paid by
DDSN, but inspections must be requested. Inspection
requests are completed using the following link:
https://firemarshal.llronline.com/Fire/appLogin.asp

Providers must request the inspection with sufficient
notice to schedule the annual inspection prior to the prier
expiration date. If requests are submitted by the 15th of
the month, the inspection will take place by the end of
the following month.



http://scfiremarshal.llronline.com/INSPECT/index.asp?file=main.htm
http://scfiremarshal.llronline.com/INSPECT/index.asp?file=main.htm
https://firemarshal.llronline.com/Fire/appLogin.asp
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4. Failure to ensure that windows and
doors are fully operable by
ambulatory residents without the
use of special tools.

5. Security devices (double-keyed
locks) affecting means of egress
are in use.

6. Failure to maintain emergency
lighting, when installed.

Failure to maintain documentation of
fire drills in an accessible location for
review.

A copy of the most recent inspection report must be
present on-site and available for review by DDSN and/or
its licensing contractor.

Sites that have fire sprinkler systems must be inspected
in accordance with NVPA25 standards and DHEC
requirements.

To maintain certification: monthly, quarterly, semi-
annual, annual and five (5) year inspections must be
completed. All the inspections can be handled by day
staff or maintenance staff, EXCEPT for the five (5) year
inspection which must be performed by a certified
sprinkler contractor. Documentation of all inspections
must be maintained by the provider.

17

The provider shall formulate and post
in each room and work area, in a place
clearly visible, a diagrammatic plan for
evacuation of the building in case of
disaster.

18

All employees shall be instructed and
kept informed regarding their duties
under the plan.

19

The center shall hold fire/disaster*
drills at least once each quarter. Each
drill conducted shall be recorded as to
time, date of drill, number of those
participating, and the total time
required for evacuation. The record
shall be signed by the individual
conducting the drill.

*Fire drills will be held quarterly. Additionally, disaster
drills will be held annually.

A copy of documentation from the prior 12 months must
be present on-site and available for review by DDSN
and/or its licensing contractor.

20

Passageways shall be free of
obstructions at all times.

Immediate corrective action required when the
obstruction prevents egress.

21

All staff shall be instructed in the
proper use of fire extinguishers as
documented in reports.

22

The use of electrical extension cords is
prohibited.

Immediate corrective action required when cited.
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23 | Programs serving individuals who are
deaf will develop a fire alarm system to
assure the clients are alerted to the
danger of fire.

24 | A safety check on electrical systems Sites that have emergency generators must perform
shall be made by a licensed/certified complete and thorough inspections of them. Routine
electrician/contractor and a written service by a qualified contractor is encouraged to ensure
report kept on file at the facility at all that generators are maintained in good operating
times. A new inspection shall be made | condition. Service contracts generally include semi-
after any expansion, repair, renovation, | annual and/or annual inspections. Providers must
or the addition of any major electrical perform monthly checks of the generators.
appliances or equipment. Documentation of all checks must be maintained by the

provider. See DDSN Directive 300-03-DD: Annual
Certification of Electrical, Mechanical, Fire Alarm and
Sprinkler Systems for Renewal of Licensure, for sample
forms which may be used to conduct monthly
inspections. A copy of the most recent inspection must
be present on-site and available for review by DDSN
and/or its licensing contractor.

25 | All staff shall be knowledgeable of
utility cut-offs throughout the facility.

26 | The heating system shall be approved
annually by a licensed/certified HVAC
contractor and the report maintained on
file at the facility. Floor furnaces shall
have adequate protective coverings or
guards to insure that individuals coming
into contact with them shall not be
burned. If space heaters are used, they
shall be vented properly and screens or
other protective devices shall be
provided to prevent individuals from
coming into contact with heaters.

27 | All cleaning equipment supplies,
insecticides, etc., shall be in a locked
cabinet or located in an area not
accessible to unauthorized individuals.

28 | Furniture, equipment, and training

materials shall be appropriate to the
ages of the individuals in the program;
shall be sturdily constructed without
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sharp edges; shall not be covered with
toxic paint; and shall present minimal
hazards to individuals.

29

Stationary outdoor equipment shall be
firmly anchored.

30

When providing Support Center
Services, the area in which services are
provided must have comfortable
accommodations and materials for
activities that are appropriate for the
individuals who receive the service.

31

The use of tools and equipment shall be
supervised by staff.

Supervision will be provided in accordance with the
individual’s assessed need. As appropriate, independent
use of equipment will be allowed.

32

In the presence of unusual hazards
arising from certain work operations,
appropriate safety precautions shall be
taken to insure the protection of those
present.

33

Equipment and Materials for Learning,
Recreational Experiences--Indoor and
outdoor equipment and materials shall
be provided in sufficient quantity and
variety to meet the developmental need
of the participants. The equipment will
be age appropriate for the participants
who use it.

34

If the facility operates a transportation
system, vehicles used for the
transportation of participants shall
ensure safety for the passengers.

This standard relates to passenger safety generally and
should capture any factors that do not fall specifically
under any of the related standards (32 — 36). For
example, a vehicle accident where the staff driving was
at fault, and for which the cause of the accident cannot be
attributed to non-compliance with any of standards 32 —
36, would result in this standard being not met.

35

Vehicles shall be inspected daily, using
a checklist. The driver shall sign a
report which indicates that he/she has
checked the lights, brakes, horn, wipers
and tires.
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36

Maintenance of vehicles shall be
recorded, updated, and signed every
month.

37

Each passenger shall have adequate
seating space and shall use a seat belt or
restraint system approved by the
Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Standards which is appropriate for
his/her age while being transported.

38

Each vehicle will have:

e First aid kit which is replenished
after each use and checked monthly
for completeness;

e Fire extinguisher which is in good
working order and securely
fastened in a manner which is
easily accessible to the driver.

39

Vehicle operators and all staff who
transport individuals shall be licensed
drivers and shall complete and have a
current defensive driving course
certificate prior to transporting
individuals which is on file with the
provider.

This standard is applicable to all staff who appear as
drivers on vehicle logs. Staff who do not operate
vehicles are not subject to these requirements.

40

Medication to be administered shall be
stored in a locked cabinet not accessible
to unauthorized individuals.

41

Prescribed medication shall be kept in
the original containers bearing the
pharmacy label which shows drug
name, the prescription number, date
filled, physician’s name, directions for
use, and the patient’s name.

42

Written authorization to administer any
medication must be given.

If the participant is over age 18 and has not been
adjudicated incompetent, he/she is considered his/her
own guardian and therefore may authorize the
administration of his/her medications. If a non-

10
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adjudicated adult is unable to authorize, authorization
may be given by a parent/representative or surrogate.
For those under age 18 or those adults who have been
adjudicated incompetent, authorization must be given by
parents or guardian.

For ICF/IID residents, medications must be given in
accordance with applicable ICF/1ID regulations and
standards.

43

Medications must be safely and
accurately given.

Medications given to ICF/IID residents must be given in
accordance with applicable ICF/1ID Standards.

Medication has not expired.

There are no contraindications (i.e., no allergy for the
drug).

Administered at the proper time, prescribed dosage, and
correct route.

If a provider has documented all medication errors, and
no errors resulted in the need for additional medical
treatment as a result of the error, the appropriate
remediation for the error was documented, AND the
monthly medication error rate for that location does not
exceed .035 for the prior three (3) months, then the
provider should not be cited for this indicator. If the
monthly error rate is more than .035 for the prior three
months (3), even with the documentation of remediation,
then the provider will be cited.

Medication Records, Medication Error Reports, and the
monthly error rate calculations for the location must be
available at the inspection site for the three (3) months
prior to the review date. If the error rate has not yet been
calculated for the month immediately preceding the
review, the reviewer may go back four (4) months.

Providers may use .035 or 3.5% as the threshold, but
must calculate the monthly error rate using the formula
defined in DDSN Directive 100-29-DD: Medication
Error/Event Reporting. Error rates for the current month
must be documented and available by the last day of the
following month.

See DDSN Directive 603-13-DD: Medication
Technician Certification.

11
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44 | Employees supervising the taking of For participants not independent in taking their own
medication will document that medication/treatments, a medication/treatment log must
medication was taken by the participant | be maintained to denote:
as authorized by parents or guardian.
a) The name of medication or type of treatment given.
b) The current physician’s order (and purpose) for the
medication and/or treatment or authorization from
the responsible party.
c) The name of individual giving the medication.
d) Time given.
e) Dosage given.
The medication log must be reviewed at a minimum,
monthly. If the reviews indicate error, actions must be
taken to alleviate future errors. Entries must be made at
the time the medication/treatment was given.
Medication includes over-the-counter medications.
45 | Outdated medications and discontinued
medications are disposed of per
provider policy.
46 | A first aid kit shall be maintained at First Aid Kit is a collection of supplies which includes:
each program site. mild hand soap or hand sanitizer liquid; cotton tipped
applicators; gauze bandages, one (1) and two (2) inch
widths; sterile gauze, three (3) inch by three (3) inch;
band-aids; adhesive tape; scissors; disinfectant; and
thermometer.
47 | Each program will have a current The schedule should reflect the hours the facility is open.

activity schedule posted.

The schedule will reflect the hours the
facility is open and the hours the
program offers supervised services.

The schedule must reflect the scheduled
activities of the day.

If supervised services (e.g., second shift enclave) are
offered, the schedule may reflect those times specifically,
or may reflect that supervised services may be available
as needed. A specific schedule for activities is not
required, but instead the activity choices available should
be listed.
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