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SOUTH CAROLINA
Department
OF
Disabilities
AND
Special Needs

EXECUTIVE MEMORANDUM

TO: Executive Directors, DSN Boards
CFOs, Contract Service Providers

Finance Directors
SCDDSN Agency-Wide Staff

FROM: Michelle G. Fry, J.D., Ph.D. /4 e C;'T ‘7
State Director

DATE: June 10, 2022

SUBJECT: Mid-Year Mileage Rate Change (Effective July 1, 2022)

Please review the attached notification from the Office of the Comptroller General’s Office
regarding the 2022 mileage reimbursement rate.

All of your policies and forms should be updated. It is important to note that this is the
MAXIMUM rate you can reimburse for mileage. Any amount in excess of this is considered
taxable income and must be reported on the employee’s W-2.

Also, as an agency, you can make the decision to reimburse ‘less than’ the standard mileage
rate. However, if you make the decision to pay something other than the rate in the attached memo,
you must update your agency’s internal policies, as this information will be necessary to provide
to internal audit.

Please disseminate information within your agency as appropriate.

Thank you.



State of South Carolina
Office of Comptroller General

1200 Senate Street
305 Wade Hampton Office Building
Columbia, South Carolina 29201

Telephone: (803) 734-2121
Fax: (803) 734-1765
RICHARD ECKSTROM, CPA E-Mail: cgoffice@cg.sc.gov WILLIAM E. GUNN
COMPTROLLER GENERAL CHIEF OF STAFF

TO: Agency Finance Directors

FROM: Ronnie Head, CPA
Senior Assistant Comptroller General

SUBJECT: Mid -Year Mileage Rate Change

DATE: June 10, 2022

The General Appropriations Act provides for mileage reimbursements at the standard business
mileage rate established by the Internal Revenue Service. Beginning on July 1, 2022, the
Internal Revenue Service rate will be 62.5 cents per mile (Announcement 2022-13).
Reimbursement for trips taken on or after July 1, 2022, will be at the rate of 62.5 cents per mile.

As a reminder, the same proviso in the General Appropriations Act also directs a reimbursement
rate of 4 cents per mile less than the standard business mileage rate when an employee
chooses to use his or her personal vehicle when a motor pool vehicle is reasonably available.
This rate will change to 58.5 cents per mile for reimbursement for trips taken on or after

July 1, 2022.

If you have any questions regarding this matter, please contact Jennifer Hairston at
jhairston@cg.sc.gov or 803-734-2540.
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